Skip to main content

Equality Act 2010

What do you need to know?

The Equality Act 2010 legally protects people from discrimination. All organisations that provide a service including a University have a duty to comply with the Equality Act 2010. 

Who is protected under the Equality Act 2010? 

The act protects people on the basis of nine protected characteristics these include:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • religion or belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation.

What is Discriminatation?

Discrimination means treating someone unfairly because of a protected characteristic.  There are various forms of discrimination including:

  • Direct Discrimination
  • Indirect Discrimination
  • Discrimination by Association
  • Discrimination by Perception
  • Harassment
  • Sexual Harassment
  • Victimisation

What is the Public Sector Equality Duty?

The Public Sector Equality Duty sits under the Equality Act 2010. The duty requires universities and other public authorities to:

  • eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation, and any other conduct that is prohibited by or under the Equality Act 2010
  • advance equality of opportunity between people who share a relevant protected characteristic and people who do not share it
  • foster good relations between people who share a relevant protected characteristic and those who do not share it.

What is the University doing to meet its duty and to comply with the Equality Act 2010?

If you feel you may have experienced discrimination or harassment, please contact the Equality Diversity and Inclusion Office via

Contact Us

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Office

Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Office

Today 09:00 - 17:00